2020-2021 Catalog 
    
    Oct 21, 2020  
2020-2021 Catalog

Financial Information & Assistance


 

Fall 2020 Tuition & Fee Schedule

Tuition and Fees are Subject to Change

Visit LoneStar.edu/tuition

Students are responsible for paying all tuition and fee charges in full by the payment due date. Students not paying by the due date may be dropped from their classes. Refer to LoneStar.edu/payment for payment due dates.

The below rates take effect for Fall 2020

Tuition per Credit Hour

Credit
Hours
Resident
of District 1
Out-of-District
Texas Resident 2
International/
Out-of-State 3
1
90
195
250
2
180
390
500
3
270
585
750
4
360
780
1,000
5
450
975
1,250
6
540
1,170
1,500
7
630
1,365
1,750
8
720
1,560
2,000
9
810
1,755
2,250
10
900
1,950
2,500
11
990
2,145
2,750
12
1,080
2,340
3,000
13
1,170
2,535
3,250
14
1,260
2,730
3,500
15
1,350
2,925
3,750
16
1,440
3,120
4,000
17
1,530
3,315
4,250
18
1,620
3,510
4,500
19
1,710
3,705
4,750
20
1,800
3,900
5,000

Note: Minimum tuition rates are set by the state legislature and are subject to change by legislative action. Student tuition and fees are subject to change by the Lone Star College Board of Trustees. Dual credit courses taught off-site will not be assessed a lab fee. Textbooks and lab fees vary by program.

 

 1 In-District Texas Resident means an adult Texas resident living in the College’s taxing district boundaries on the census date in the semester in which the student enrolls. It can also mean a non-adult Texas resident whose parents or guardians live within those boundaries on the census date in the semester in which the student enrolls. It can also mean property owners, and their dependents, who pay the College’s property taxes and are Texas residents. It can also mean the College’s full-time employee’s immediate family members. Finally, it can also mean a Texas resident of the Acres Home Super Neighborhood attending the College’s Victory Center. Students are charged an in-district tuition rate of $88 per credit hour and a $2 per credit hour activity fee.

2 Out-of-District Texas Resident means an adult Texas resident living outside the College’s taxing district boundaries on the official enrollment reporting date. It can also mean a non-adult Texas resident whose parents or guardians live outside those boundaries on the official enrollment reporting date. Includes an out-of-district tuition fee of $193 per credit hour and a $2 per credit hour student activity fee.

3 International/Out-of-State Residents means a person aged over 18 years who does not meet the Texas Resident definition (LSC Board Policy Manual Section VI.B.1.02(d)). This definition also includes persons aged less than 18 years whose parents or legal guardians resided outside of Texas for the 12 months before the applicable semester. Includes an out-of-state tuition fee of $248 per credit hour and a $2 per credit hour student activity fee.

Students who enroll in the same course for the third or more time will be assessed an additional $60 per credit hour. Certain courses are excluded. See LoneStar.edu/repeatcourse for details.

 

Lone Star College will no longer charge differential tuition by program beginning Fall 2020.

Mandatory Fees per Credit Hour

Student activity fee 

$2

Other Fees

ACCUPLACER Advanced Math Placement

$10

AVANT placement exam

$25

Auditing a course

Charges equal to credit enrollment  

Course/competency challenge exam

$25

ESOL Assessment Test
($8 per section)

$24

Exam proctoring fee

Varies by exam and location

F-1 Student Health Insurance Plan
(purchase through Academic Health Plans (AHP))

See advisor

Lab fees

Varies by course, posted with course description

Liability insurance

Varies by program

Payment plan administration fee
(non-refundable)

$20

Payment plan late fee
(per past due payment occurrence)

$25

Portfolio evaluations

$60

Repeated course**
(per credit hour)

$60

Returned check
(per check or electronic)

$30

Texas Success Initiative Assessment fee
($10 per section)

$29

Textbooks
(new, used or rental)

Varies by course

Transcript

$9

Specialty fees: liability insurance, uniforms, supplies, etc.

Varies by program

* These fees are subject to change by the Board of Trustees or legislative action.
** Most courses that are repeated 3 or more times.

 

Individual Course Fee Schedule

If applicable, an individual course fee, such as a lab fee, is posted with the course description .

Payment Policy

Students are responsible for paying charges by the payment due date. Students who do not pay by the due date will be dropped from some or all their classes unless they are enrolled in a payment plan, or have anticipated financial aid covering their tuition and fee charges.

Current students can pay online via myLoneStar. Payments can also be made at the business office with cash, check or credit/debit cards. Credit/Debit card payments will not be accepted by telephone.

International payments via Flywire are accepted. Flywire allows international students to pay using bank wire transfers, credit cards, e-wallet and more. Students can go to flywire for more information.

Sponsored Billing is available for students whose employer, or other organization, has agreed to pay student account charges on behalf of the student to Lone Star College. Third Party Sponsors are billed after the Withdrawal date (“W” Day) of the main terms (Fall, Spring, Summer). Payment is due 30 days from the invoice date. Any charges not paid by the Sponsor will be the responsibility of the student. Students must fill out a Third Party Agreement form and provide a letter from their Sponsor on company letterhead stating the payment terms prior to classes starting.

Please go to LoneStar.edu/payment for more information.

Credit Refund Policy

For more details, please go to LoneStar.edu/refunds

The refund policy for Lone Star College is based upon the assumption that student tuition and fees provide only a portion of the actual incurred costs to provide educational opportunities. When a student enrolls in a class, a place is reserved which cannot be given to another student. This represents a significant cost to LSC whether or not class enrollment is continued.  

Refunds will be made under the following conditions, in compliance with the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board Policy:

  1. If the college cancels or discontinues a scheduled course, a 100 percent refund is granted.
  2. Students who drop a course or who totally withdraw before the first class day will have their tuition and fees refunded (EXCEPT for the registration fee, the payment plan administration fee, or the late fee - if any are applicable). These refunds are in accordance with the following drops and withdrawals schedule.
  3. Students who drop a course or withdraw after the first calendar day of the semester will receive a partial tuition and fees refund (EXCEPT for the registration fee, the payment plan administration fee, or the late fee - if any are applicable) in accordance with the following drop and withdrawal schedule.

Please note some fees are nonrefundable and are not included in the tuition and fee charges when calculating refunds for students. These fees include the registration fee, payment plan administration fee, and late fees. Students on payment plans will have their refund percentage calculated based on the amount they have paid toward their balance minus any nonrefundable fees.

Important: Title IV (Federal Pell Grant, FSEOG, Direct Loans) aid recipients are subject to a different policy upon complete withdrawal of classes (refer to LoneStar.edu/refunds). Financial aid refunds cannot be processed until the award has been disbursed. Enrollment changes that occur after financial aid refunds have been processed may result in a balance due to the institution.

Tuition and financial aid refunds are processed from Lone Star College beginning one week after the official day of record. Refunds for courses scheduled outside the sessions listed in this section will be made on a prorated basis in accordance with the refund policy.

Drops and Withdrawals

Fall and Spring Semesters

Prior to the first calendar day of the semester

100%

During the first 15 calendar days of the semester

70%

During the 16th through 20th calendar days of the semester

25%

After the 20th calendar day of the semester

None

Six-Week Summer Semester

Prior to the first calendar day of the semester

100%

During the first five calendar days of the semester

70%

During the sixth and seventh calendar days of the semester

25%

After the seventh calendar day of the semester

None

Flex Entry and Non-Semester Length Courses

Prior to the first scheduled calendar session

100%
After classes begin, see Refund Schedule - All Session Lengths chart.  

 

Refund Schedule - All Session Lengths

Length of
Class Session
in Weeks

Last Day for
70 percent Refund

Last Day for
25 percent Refund

2 weeks or less

2nd day of session

N/A

3 weeks

3rd day of session

4th day of session

4 weeks

4th day of session

5th day of session

5 weeks

5th day of session

6th day of session

6 weeks

5th day of session

7th day of session

7 weeks

7th day of session

9th day of session

8 weeks

8th day of session

10th day of session

9 weeks

9th day of session

11th day of session

10 weeks

9th day of session

12th day of session

11 weeks

10th day of session

14th day of session

12 weeks

12th day of session

15th day of session

13 weeks

13th day of session

16th day of session

14 weeks

13th day of session

17th day of session

15 weeks

14th day of session

19th day of session

16 weeks or longer

15th day of session

20th day of session

Payment

Regulations Concerning Checks

  1. A returned check fee of $30 will be assessed if a check presented for payment of a student’s obligation to the college is returned for any reason or is not honored by your financial institution.
  2. If your check is returned unpaid for any reason you must make other payment arrangements promptly, or your classes may be dropped, future registration may be prevented and all records may be withheld.
  3. Checks presented for payment of tuition and fees, for deposits, or for the purchase of books or equipment, will not be accepted in an amount greater than the total amount due for the transaction.
  4. No temporary or postdated checks will be accepted by the college.
  5. Students who present three or more checks with insufficient funds, may be prohibited from making future payments by check.

Checks may be converted into an Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) transaction for clearing through an electronic payment network, such as the Automated Clearing House (ACH). By providing us with your completed signed check, you authorize us to make an EFT payment from your account in the same amount as the check.  An EFT payment is processed faster than a regular check.  It is important to verify there are sufficient funds available in your checking account before submitting payment. Our system will make three attempts at processing your payment. Additional attempts may result in additional charges by your financial institution.  Check with your bank to review its fee policy.

Charge Cards Accepted

VISA, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover will be accepted for payment of tuition and fees. Payments can be made using debit/credit cards, pre-paid cards or gift cards. Students should retain the pre-paid cards and gift cards used for payment, even if the balance is depleted. Refunds will be applied to the original card used during payment.

Installment Payment Plan

Students may defer full payment of tuition and fee charges by enrolling in an installment payment plan through myLoneStar - Financial Information. Payment plans are offered for Fall and Spring terms only. Students must be enrolled in a payment plan the day before classes start for the term. A minimum down payment of 40% of eligible tuition and fees will be required at the time of enrollment. The remaining balance is deferred in a minimum of two equal installments which require payment by the last week of class. All previous semester balances must be paid in full prior to enrollment in a plan. Please note that payment plans for flat fee programs, such as the CHI program, may have different down payment requirements. The number of installments may also vary depending on the length of the course. A $20 payment plan fee is assessed and due upon enrollment in the plan. A $25 late fee will be assessed on each delinquent installment. For more information, visit: LoneStar.edu/payment-plan.

Collection Costs

If financial obligations are not paid in full by their due dates, these debts may be referred to an outside collection agency and to the appropriate credit bureaus. The amount referred to the collection agency will be subject to collection costs. Collection agency fees up to 30 percent may be assessed and added to the original debt including any reasonable litigation costs and/or attorney fees. The student must pay these costs, as well as applicable interest and fees. Once debts have been turned over to an outside collection agency, payment arrangements must be made with the respective collection agency. Furthermore, all unpaid obligations will result in holds placed on student records affecting the issuance of diplomas and transcripts, and will prevent future registration activity.

Resident Status

Determination of Residency

Under Texas state law, students are classified as residents of Texas, non-residents of Texas, or as international students.  In addition to Texas residency for tuition purposes, LSC students who reside in Texas are further classified as in-district or out-of-district based on their current home address.  All new students will be required to sign an oath of residency and may be required to provide substantiating documentation.

It is the responsibility of the student to register under the correct residency classification. If there is a question about classification, the student is responsible for discussing this with the admissions office and having an official determination made before registering for classes. Additional information regarding residency requirements may be found in the campus admissions office. The chief student services officer is the final authority on all questions on residency. Deliberate falsification of resident status or documentation will result in the student having to pay the difference in the charges and may subject a student to immediate dismissal.

Persons Classified as Texas Residents:

  1. A person who established a domicile in Texas no less than one year before the semester’s census date in which the person enrolls and maintained that domicile continuously for the year preceding that census date.
  2. A dependent whose parent or guardian established a domicile in Texas no less than one year before the semester’s census date in which the person enrolls and maintained that domicile continuously for the year preceding that census date.
  3. A non-citizen person who first graduated from a Texas public or accredited private high school, home school program, or a Texas high school diploma-equivalent program. And second, established a domicile in Texas for at least 36 months prior to graduating or receiving a diploma-equivalent. And third, established a domicile in Texas for one year before the student’s first academic semester’s census date.
  4. A nonresident of Texas employed by a business or organization established in Texas under a Texas Economic Development and Diversification In-State Tuition Incentivealong with their spouse and children are eligible to pay resident tuition. It is irrelevant how long the person has been domiciled in Texas. The enrolling student must provide a letter of intent to establish Texas residency with the College.

  5. A person who established a domicile in Texas no less than 12 consecutive months before the semester’s 12th day in which the person enrolls. And who holds an immigration visa allowing him or her to live in the United States.

  6. A person who has filed a Petition for Permanent Resident Status (I-130 or I-140). And who has established a domicile in Texas no less than 12 consecutive months before the applicable semester’s 12th day.

  7. A person, ignoring immigration status, who satisfies (c)(3) above and provides the College an affidavit. The affidavit must promise that the person will apply for legal permanent residency as soon as eligible.

  8. A person stationed in Texas who is an officer, enlisted, selectee, or draftee of the United States Army, Army National Guard, Air Force, Air National Guard, Navy, Marine Corps, Coast Guard, or a commissioned officer in the Public Health Service. This also applies to the person’s spouse and dependent children. This definition does not apply to service members training in Texas in an isolated or routine manner.

  9. A member of the United States Armed Services whose Home of Record with the military is Texas is presumed to be a Texas resident, as are his or her spouse and dependent children. A member whose Home of Record is not Texas but who provides the institution Leave and Earnings Statements that show the member has claimed Texas as his or her place of residence for the 12 straight months prior to enrollment is presumed to be a Texas resident, as are his or her spouse and dependent children.

  10. A Texas resident means a service member’s spouse or child under certain circumstances. First, the service member is stationed outside Texas. Second, the member’s spouse or child resides in Texas. Third, the spouse or child gives the College a letter of intent to establish Texas residency. It is irrelevant how long the spouse or child has lived in Texas if the letter of intent is filed.

Documentation Used to Establish Domicile in Texas:

  • Employer’s statement of dates of employment, self-employment, pay stubs, or other proof of earned income in Texas
  • Written statements from one or more social service agencies in Texas attesting to the provisions of services
  • Residential real property in Texas
  • Marriage to a person who has established domicile
  • Ownership of a Business Entity with evidence of ownership of the person or dependent’s parent

Documentation Used to Show Proof of Maintenance of Residence for 12 Consecutive Months:

  • Utility bills for the 12 consecutive months preceding the Official Day in the student’s name or dependent parent’s name
  • A Texas high school transcript for the full senior year immediately preceding Official Day
  • A transcript from a Texas institution showing presence in the state for the 12 consecutive months preceding the Official Day showing classification as a Texas resident
  • Cancelled checks that reflect a Texas residence for the 12 consecutive months preceding the Official Day
  • A current credit report that documents the length and place of residence of the person or the dependent’s parent to be in Texas and the length of residence to be at least 12 consecutive months preceding the Official Day
  • Texas voter registration card with origination date that was issued at least 12 months prior to the Official Day
  • Pay stubs for the 12 consecutive months immediately preceding the Official Day, reflecting significant gainful employment in Texas
  • Bank statements reflecting a Texas address for the 12 consecutive months immediately preceding the Official Day
  • Written statements from the office of one or more social service agencies, attesting to the provision of services for at least the 12 consecutive months immediately preceding the Official Day
  • Lease or rental of residential real property in the name of the person or the dependent’s parent for the 12 consecutive months immediately preceding the Official Day

Determination of LSC In-District Residency

For tuition purposes, students will be classified according to the following guidelines:

  1. In-District Texas Resident means an adult Texas resident living in the College’s taxing district boundaries on the Official Day of the semester in which the student enrolls. It can also mean a non-adult Texas resident whose parents or guardians live within those boundaries on the census date in the semester in which the student enrolls. It can also mean property owners (and their dependents) who pay property taxes imposed by the College and are Texas residents. It can also mean the College’s full-time employee’s immediate family members. Finally, it can also mean a Texas resident of the Acres Home Super Neighborhood attending the College’s Victory Center.
  2. Out-of-District Texas Resident means an adult Texas resident living outside the College’s taxing district boundaries on the Official Day of the semester. It can also mean a non-adult Texas resident whose parents or guardians live outside those boundaries.
  3. Out-of-State Resident means a person age 18 years or older who does not meet the Texas Resident definition under this section. This definition also includes persons under 18 years old whose parents or legal guardians resided outside of Texas for the 12 months before the applicable semester.
  4. International Resident means a person age 18 years or older who does not meet the Texas Resident definition above.

Documentation for In-District Resident Status

Documents which can be used to demonstrate residency within the boundaries of the independent school districts of Aldine, Conroe, Cypress-Fairbanks, Humble, Klein, Magnolia, New Caney, Splendora, Spring, Tomball, and Willis:

  • Driver’s license or Texas ID card with address located within the taxing district
  • Rental or lease agreement with address located within the taxing district
  • Deed to real property or property tax statement with address located within the taxing district
  • Residential utility bills with address located within the taxing district
  • Cellular phone bills with address located within the taxing district
  • Current bank statement with address located within the taxing district
  • Automobile insurance/vehicle registration with address located within the taxing district
  • A current voter registration card with address located within the taxing district
  • A current credit report that documents the place of residence of the person or the dependent’s parents or legal guardians located within the taxing district

Changes in Residency Status

If a student continues to enroll in at least one fall or spring semester each year, the student’s residency status will remain the same unless the student files to change the residency status. It is the student’s responsibility to change the residency status if the student’s residency changes. All changes are made by the student through his or her myLoneStar Student Center. Any change resulting in a residency status different from the student’s initial admission to LSC will require the student to provide substantiating documentation. The student must file the request to change residency status before the Official Day for the semester. Changes made after this date will be effective for the following semester.

Financial Assistance

The purpose of financial aid is to remove financial barriers that prevent access to educational opportunities. Lone Star College participates in programs that provide aid through grants, a variety of scholarships, college work-study employment and federal student loans. Students choosing to apply for these programs should complete the steps outlined in the Grants/Application Processing section. Priority is given to those students who apply and complete the process prior to April l. After the priority date, awards are made as long as funds are available. Scholarships are usually awarded for the fall and spring terms only.

Lone Star College Foundation Scholarships

Lone Star College Foundation offers a variety of need-based and merit-based financial awards. Applications and details related to each scholarship are available on the Lone Star College website and through the financial aid offices on each college campus. Please see a financial aid advisor for more details. The LSC application deadlines are April 1 for fall and October 1 for spring.

Grants/Application Processing

Step 1: Go to www.fafsa.gov to complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). Be sure to list the Lone Star College school code, 011145. The FAFSA is available October 1 of each year for the upcoming academic year. File as early as possible because limitedly funded programs are awarded on a first-come, first-serve basis.

Step 2: After submitting your FAFSA, a copy is provided electronically to the Lone Star College Financial Aid Office (FAO). If you have been selected by the Central Processing System (CPS) for a process called verification, you will be required to submit additional documentation to the FAO. The FAO will notify you via email of the documentation you are required to provide.

Step 3: Your financial aid eligibility is determined after the FAO has received your FAFSA and all required documents, provided you are:

  • Admitted to Lone Star College;
  • Seeking a degree or certificate program at least one year in length;
  • Meeting SAP policy requirements; and
  • Meeting all other federal eligibility requirements.

Step 4: The FAO will send you an award letter detailing the types of aid you are eligible to receive.

Step 5: Accept or decline any financial aid offers via MyLoneStar.

Step 6: Federal Direct Loan Borrowers

  • If you are a first time Federal Direct Loan borrower, you must complete a Direct Entrance Loan Counseling session. A link to the online session is available at StudentLoans.gov.
  • First time Federal Direct Loan borrowers must also complete a Master Promissory Note (MPN). You may access the MPN document by logging onto StudentLoans.gov.

Parent Direct PLUS Loan Borrowers - You must complete a credit pre-approval and MPN (if you have not already completed a Direct PLUS MPN). You may access the PLUS application at StudentLoans.gov.

Financial Aid Eligibility

Students must meet the following criteria in order to receive federal student aid:

  • Be admitted into an eligible degree or certificate program;
  • Demonstrate financial need (some loans do not require an applicant to demonstrate need);
  • Have a high school diploma or GED, which are in compliance with standards approved by the U.S. Department of Education;
  • Be a U.S. citizen or eligible non-citizen;
  • Have a valid Social Security Number (SSN);
  • Meet Satisfactory Academic Progress standards (see SAP Policy below);
  • Be registered with Selective Service, if applicable;
  • Must not be in default of any federal student loans.

Note: A conviction of drug distribution or possession may affect a student’s eligibility for federal student aid. All federal student aid programs have specific eligibility requirements that a student must meet in addition to those stated above. More information detailing specific criteria may be found in the Need-Based Programs section of this catalog.

Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP)

All LSC aid applicants must meet three Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) requirements, prescribed by federal regulation, to receive financial aid. SAP requirements include the following:

  • Maintaining at least a 2.0 cumulative grade point average,
  • Successfully completing 67% of cumulative credits attempted, and
  • Earning a degree or certificate within 150% of the published length in credit hours of the declared program of study.

To qualify for aid a financial aid recipient must maintain satisfactory academic progress. For more information and the most current policy, go to Lonestar.edu/satisfactory-academic-progress

Federal and State Need-Based Programs

NOTE: Most need-based grants (with the exception of a Federal Pell Grant) are awarded on a first-come, first-served basis. Students who wish to be considered for these awards should complete their financial aid file as soon as possible.

Federal Pell Grant (PELL) - A federal grant designed to help students with financial need obtain their first undergraduate degree. The maximum annual grant for the 2020-2021 year is determined by the Federal Pell Grant program.

Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG) - A federal and institution-matched need-based grant. Priority is given to those students who demonstrate an exceptional need and qualify for a Federal Pell Grant. Limited funds are available.

Federal Work Study Program (FWS) - A federal and college-matched work program which provides jobs for students who have a financial need. Students apply for these jobs online. Visit LoneStar.edu/work-study to view available jobs. Students normally work 15 to 19 hours per week and begin above minimum wage. Diverse positions are available at the campuses. Limited funds are available.

Texas College Work Study Program (TCWS) - A state and college-matched work study program similar to the federal work study program. Program participation is limited to fall and spring terms. Limited funds are available.

Texas Educational Opportunity Grant (TEOG) - A state grant made available to students who demonstrate high financial need and who are enrolled in at least six hours. The student may not qualify for TEXAS Grant in order to qualify for TEOG. The maximum award is determined by the TEOG and is awarded per year for fall and spring only.

Texas Public Education Grant (TPEG) - A grant fund made available from tuition revenues to assist LSC students in financial need. Awards generally range from $500 to $6000 per year.

Towards Excellence and Success Grant (TEXAS) Renewal - A state grant made available to students who graduate from high school with a Recommended Advanced High School, Advanced High School Honor, or Distinguished High School seal on their high school transcript. A high school transcript with school seal must be on file at the college the student will be attending. Students must enroll in at least nine hours. Enrollment has to be within 16 months after the month of high school graduation. The maximum award is determined by the TEXAS Renewal program and is awarded per year for fall and spring only.

Students may contact the financial aid office at the college they plan to attend or may visit our website at LoneStar.edu/financial-aid for a copy of the LSC award guidelines.

Return of Title IV Aid

Under the Higher Education Amendment regulation called Return of Title IV Funds, all students receiving Title IV federal grant or loan assistance who withdraw from the institution in the first 60% of the term are subject to the Return of Title IV Fund policy. This regulation affects the calculation of aid to be returned as well as repayment procedures. The percentage of aid earned by a Title IV student is determined by calculating the percentage of the period that the student completed. If the student completes up to 60% of the term, the percentage of aid earned equals the percentage of the completed period. A portion of the Title IV funds (Pell Grant, SEOG, and Direct Loans) awarded to the student must be returned. The calculation of the return of these funds may result in the student owing a balance to Lone Star College and/or the Department of Education. It is the student’s responsibility to officially withdraw from all classes. If the student completes 60.01% or more, the student earns 100% of aid.

Students who are no longer attending at least six credit hours at the time loan funds are scheduled to be disbursed are not eligible to receive those funds. The loan will be cancelled, and all loan funds returned to the Department of Education.

The Financial Aid Office (FAO) is required by federal statute to recalculate federal financial aid eligibility for students who withdraw, drop out, are dismissed, or take a leave of absence prior to completing 60% of a payment period or term. ALL Title IV financial aid programs must be recalculated in these situations.

If a student leaves LSC prior to completing 60% of a payment period or term, the FAO recalculates eligibility for Title IV funds. Recalculation is based on the percentage of aid earned and must recalculate their aid using the following Federal Return of Title IV funds formula: Percentage of payment period or term completed = the number of days completed up to the withdrawal date divided by the total days in the payment period or term. (Any break of five days or more is not counted as part of the days in the term). This percentage is also the percentage of aid earned. Funds are returned to the appropriate federal programs based on the percentage of unearned aid using the following formula: Aid to be returned = (100% of the aid that could be disbursed minus the percentage of earned aid) multiplied by the total amount of aid that could have been disbursed during the payment period or term.

If a student earned less aid than was disbursed, the institution and/or the student may be required to return a portion of the funds. Keep in mind that when Title IV funds are returned, the student borrower may owe a debit balance to the institution.

If a student earned more aid than was disbursed to him/her, the institution would owe the student a post-withdrawal disbursement which must be paid within 120 days of the student’s withdrawal. The institution must return the amount of Title IV funds for which it is responsible no later than 45 days after the date of the determination of the date of the student’s withdrawal.

Refunds are allocated in the following order:

  • Unsubsidized Federal Direct Loan
  • Subsidized Federal Direct Loan
  • Federal Parent PLUS Loan
  • Federal Pell Grant
  • Federal Supplemental Opportunity Grant (FSEOG)
  • Federal Iraq Afghanistan Grant

Unofficial Withdrawal Policy for Federal Student Aid Purposes Only

A student who stops attending class or leaves the College without following the official procedures for withdrawal from a course or resignation from the College is subject to receiving a grade of “F” posted on his/her academic record for each course in question and/or denial of permission to reenter the College.

When a student receives all “F”s, “W”s, or a combination of these grades for a semester, he or she may be defined as unofficially withdrawn for Title IV purposes. Please refer to the Lonestar.edu/financial-aid for the most current policy.

  • At the end of each term, students who have been identified as unofficially withdrawn will be notified in writing. The student will have 10 business days to document the last date of attendance, if applicable.
  • If the last date of attendance cannot be determined, the student is assumed to have attended 50% of the enrollment period and the Return of Title IV calculation will be based on this length of attendance. Unofficially withdrawn students will be billed for resulting institutional charges and repayments of Federal Student Aid (FSA).

Other Financial Aid Information

On-Campus Employment - A limited number of jobs are available at each college to employ students part time above minimum wage. These jobs are primarily clerical and aim to assist the student with the cost of education. Students interested in applying for these positions should visit LoneStar.edu/work-study.

Federal Direct Loan - Under the Federal Direct Loan Program, students enrolled at least half-time may borrow funds from the U.S. Department of Education. Although the FAFSA must be completed, students who do not qualify for a subsidized loan on the basis of need may receive an unsubsidized loan. The amount a student is eligible to receive depends upon the student’s classification and dependency status. The subsidized loan is awarded on the basis of financial need and the student will not be charged interest before beginning repayment or during authorized periods of deferment. The federal government subsidizes the interest during these periods. An unsubsidized loan does not require a student to demonstrate financial need. Unsubsidized loans accrue interest from the time the loan is disbursed until they are paid in full. Students are required to begin repayment of principal and interest on loans six months after they graduate, resign, or cease to be enrolled at least half-time. All students are required to complete an entrance and exit loan interview relative to their repayment obligations. Additional loan information may be secured from the FAO at the college you are planning to attend.

Dependent Undergraduate Students

Subsidized

Additional Unsubsidized

First Year (29 or fewer earned credit hours)

$ 3,500

$2,000

Second Year (30 - 59 earned credit hours)

$ 4,500

$2,000

Note: Parent is eligible to apply for a PLUS loan up to the Cost of Attendance. (pending approved credit) If the Parent loan is denied a dependent student is eligible for an Unsubsidized loan for $ 4,000 or up to the Cost of Attendance.    

Independent Undergraduate Students or Dependent Undergraduate Students Whose Parents Are Not Eligible for a Plus Loan

Subsidized

Additional Unsubsidized

First Year (29 or fewer earned credit hours)

$ 3,500

$6,000

Second Year (30 - 59 earned credit hours)

$ 4,500

$6,000

Aggregate Limits for Federal Direct Subsidized and Unsubsidized Stafford Loans:

Undergraduate Dependent Students:

$ 31,000 (no more than $ 23,000 of which can be subsidized)

 

Undergraduate Independent Students:

$ 57,500 (no more than $ 23,000 of which can be subsidized)

 

 

Federal Parent Loan for the Undergraduate Student (PLUS) - A dependent student whose parent requests a PLUS loan is eligible to borrow up to the cost of attendance minus any other financial aid received. This loan is a credit-based loan. Parents begin the application process by accessing the PLUS Loan application at www.studentloans.gov.  Students who are not making satisfactory academic progress as defined by the college may have a restriction imposed on their application for these loans. Additional information and applications are available in the FAO.

 

Tuition Exemptions

In addition to exemptions listed below, the college will provide any other tuition exemptions authorized by law.

 Senior Citizens, 65 or Older

Senior Citizens, 65 or Older, Free Tuition for 6 Credit Hours -Students who are 65 years or older by the first day of class can have up to 6 credit hours of tuition waived for formula funded courses per semester. The award does not cover any fees, tuition of courses taken three or more times, or charges assessed for non-credit courses. Students must meet LSC’s Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) minimum grade point average for continued eligibility.

All students interested in receiving the Senior Citizen, 65 or Older, State Exemption should complete Lone Star’s State Exemption and Waiver Acknowledgement Agreement form. The form can be obtained under the Student Help Center in the Student Forms section in myLoneStar. All documentation must be submitted prior to the start of classes. Exemptions are applied up to the Official Day of Record of a term. They cannot be applied to students’ accounts retroactively. (For more information regarding exemption eligibility requirements, please contact your campus business office.) Lonestar.edu/lsc-business-offices.htm

Tuition Exemptions for Fire Science

Eligibility for tuition exemptions under Texas Education Code 54.353:

  • A student must be employed as a fire­fighter in Texas and have documentation from the Fire Chief of their paid status, or is currently, and has been an active member of a volunteer fire department for one year and holds an accredited advance certificate (or equivalent).
  • Firefighters enrolled in Fire Science programs, which includes the credit and non-credit Basic Structural Firefighter Certificate, Fire Science Technology  Associate of Applied Science (AAS), Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Professions Intermediate Certificate, EMS Professions Paramedic Certificate, and EMS Professions AAS. The exemption will also cover general education courses required to complete a Fire Science or EMS certificate or degree. Only tuition and lab fees are exempted. Equipment rental and other fees will not be exempted.
  • General education courses not required for degree/certificate completion or ap­plied toward that degree or certificate completion will not be exempted.
  • Continuing education courses for which Lone Star College does not receive tax support are not exempted.
  • Students receiving the Fire Science Ex­emption as a continuation award must maintain a 2.0 GPA or higher. The 2.0 GPA SAP (Satisfactory Academic Progress) requirement does not pertain to students receiving this award for the first time.

Tuition Exemptions for Peace Officers Enrolled in Certain Courses

Eligibility for tuition exemptions under Texas Education Code 54.3531:

  • A student must be employed as a peace officer in the state of Texas or by a political subdivision of Texas. Peace officers must provide their campus bursar or business office proof of employment as a paid officer (i.e. a copy of a recent check stub or a signed letter from their supervisor on official letterhead).
  • Students must apply for the exemption and submit all necessary paperwork one week prior to the start of the term.
  • Tuition exemptions will be granted for peace officers enrolled in a certificate or degree program leading to a law enforcement-related or criminal justice certificate or degree. Only courses directly related to law enforcement or criminal justice are exempted. Courses not directly related to law enforcement or criminal justice are not covered even though they may be required for completion of the degree or certificate.
  • Only tuition and lab fees are exempted.
  • Continuing education courses for which Lone Star College does not receive tax support are not exempted.
  • Students who have previously attempted 30 credit hours beyond the number of semester credit hours required for the degree will not be eligible.
  • Students receiving the Peace Officer Exemption as a continuation award must maintain a 2.0 GPA or higher. The 2.0 GPA requirement does not pertain to students receiving this award for the first time.

Veteran and Military-Affiliated Educational Benefits

LSC is approved by the Texas Veterans Commission under the provisions of Title 38, U.S. Code for VA Educational Benefits to train veterans and other eligible persons for approved programs and courses required for those programs.

Veterans and Military Affiliated students using VA educational benefits should visit the LSC Veterans Financial Services Center webpage at LoneStar.edu/Veterans-Affairs to receive detailed instructions for the processing and procedures of GI Bill benefits.

Students wanting to use GI Bill benefits should review the Department of Veterans Affairs benefit eligibility requirements by visiting GIBill.VA.Gov.

Each LSC campus has a Veterans Academic Advisors available to guide the active duty or guard/reservist member through the GI Bill and/or Tuition Assistance application process. The campus Veterans Academic Advisors can assist the veteran/dependent student through the Hazlewood Exemption application process as well. Students can find out more about the Hazlewood Exemption by visiting: tvc.texas.gov/

Any questions regarding access to resources and associated educational benefits can be directed to the Veterans Financial Advising Services Center at GIBill@LoneStar.edu or call 281.290.2922 for assistance.

VA Requirements

  • Students must provide official transcripts from all previously attended institutions, including military transcripts, accredited and non-accredited institutions prior to receiving GI Bill and Tuition Assistance certification. Please note transcript waivers are not applicable for VA certification requests.
  • Students must submit all required documents to the Veterans Financial Services office prior to certification.
  • Students must visit their respective Campus Veterans Academic Advisors each term to ensure their classes qualify for such benefits.
  • Students must follow their approved LSC degree plan. Only courses that apply to their specific degree plan will be approved for such benefits.
  • Students must submit a Request for Certification each semester to notify Veterans Financial Services they will be utilizing their benefits.

Return of Unearned Military Tuition Assistance (TA) Policy

Military Tuition Assistance (TA) is awarded to a student under the assumption that the student will attend school for the entire period for which the assistance is awarded. When a student withdraws, the student may no longer be eligible for the full amount of TA funds originally awarded.

To comply with the new Department of Defense (DoD) policy, Lone Star College will return any unearned TA funds on a prorated basis through at least the 60% portion of the period for which the funds were provided. TA funds are earned proportionally during an enrollment period, with unearned funds returned based upon when a student stops attending. These funds are returned to the military service branch.

Instances when a service member stops attending due to a military service obligation, the educational institution will work with the affected service member to identify solutions that will not result in student debt for the returned portion.

After 60% of the semester has passed, TA will not be evaluated for a return to the DoD.

As an institution, the DoD will be billed after 60% of the semester has passed to reduce the amount of incorrect TA funds being disbursed by the DoD to Lone Star College. We will only bill for the amount the student earned given their enrollment.

The amount of unearned TA that is returned to the military service branch is based on the date of withdrawal from the course based on the following formula:

Percentage of payment period or term completed = the number of days completed up to the withdrawal date divided by the total days in the payment period or term.

REGULAR 16-WEEK COURSE

Amount to Return

Week 1 (Days 1-7)

94%

Week 2 (Days 8-14)

87%

Week 3 (Days 15-21)

81%

Week 4 (Days 22-28)

75%

Week 5 (Days 29-35)

69%

Week 6 (Days 36-42

62%

Week 7 (Days 43-49)

56%

Week 8 (Days 50-56)

50%

Week 9 (Days 57-63)

44%

Week 10 (days 64-67) 60% of Course is Completed

40%

Day 68 or later

0%

 

8-WEEK COURSE

Amount to Return

Days 1-5

91%

Days 6-10

82%

Days 11-15

73%

Days 16-20

64%

Days 21-25

55%

Days 26-30

46%

Days 31-34 (60% of Course is Completed)

40%

Day 35 or later

0%

 

6-WEEK COURSE

Amount to Return

Days 1-4

90%

Days 5-8

81%

Days 9-12

71%

Days 13-16

62%

Days 17-20

52%

Days 21-24

43%

Day 25 (60% of course is completed)

40%

Day 26 or later

0%

 

For courses that have durations differing from those listed above:

Unearned TA funds will be returned on a prorated basis, depending on the length of the course. To determine the amount of TA funds that need to be returned, the institution will determine the date the withdrawal was submitted, and then divide that by the number of days in the term to determine the percentage of TA that was earned by the student.

Example: The student enrolled in a course with a duration of 30 days. The withdrawal was submitted on the 14th day. The institution would perform the calculation to determine how much TA was earned by the student’s attendance: (14 divided by 30 equals 46.6%. 47% of the TA authorized was earned by the student, which means 53% of what was authorized will be returned to the DOD).

Standard of Academic Progress

VA regulations require that a student receiving VA educational benefits make satisfactory progress according to the Academic Policies section in the LSC catalog. If a student is placed on suspension, the VA will suspend the student’s VA benefits for the following fall or spring semester.

Tutorial Assistance

The VA provides additional financial assistance for students who need academic tutorial assistance.  Certain restrictions and requirements apply in order to obtain this assistance. Information regarding the benefit can be obtained at http://www.benefits.va.gov/gibill/tutorial_assistance.asp

Statement of Rights

Students may review their financial aid and veteran benefit records at any time. Financial aid and veteran benefit records are protected in accordance with the Family Education Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) of 1974, as amended.

Students also have the following rights:

  • Request the amendment of your records to ensure they are not inaccurate, misleading or otherwise in violation of your privacy or other rights.
  • Consent to disclose personally identifiable information contained in your records, except to the extent that FERPA authorizes disclosure without consent.
  • File with the U.S. Department of Education a complaint alleging failure by the College to comply with requirements of FERPA.
  • Obtain a copy of the FERPA form and policy from LoneStar.edu/consumer-safety
  • Appeal any financial aid award, if special circumstances warrant review.
  • You may contact the Financial Aid Contact Center at 281-290-2700 with any questions.

Note: The information contained in this section is subject to change, without notice, in order to comply with federal, state, or institutional requirements.

The Hazlewood Act for Texas Veterans

The Hazlewood Act for Texas Veterans is a State of Texas benefit that provides qualified veterans, spouses, and dependent children with an education benefit of up to 150 hours of tuition exemption, including most fee charges, at  public institutions of higher education in Texas. This does NOT include living expenses, books, or supply fees.

For additional eligibility information, visit the Texas Veterans Commission website: tvc.texas.gov/education/hazlewood-act/

Veteran Category

A Veteran must:

  • At the time of entry into active duty in the U.S. Armed Forces,
    • designated Texas as Home of Record;
    • or entered the service in Texas;
    • or was a Texas resident;
  • Have received an honorable discharge or separation or a general discharge under honorable conditions as indicated on the Veteran’s Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty (DD Form 214);
  • Served at least 181 days of active duty service (excluding training);
  • Have no federal veteran’s education benefits, or have no federal veterans education benefits dedicated to the payment of tuition and fees only (such as Chapter 33 or 31) for term or semester enrolled that do not exceed the value of Hazlewood benefits;
  • Not be in default on a student loan made or guaranteed by the State of Texas;
  • Enroll in classes for which the college receives tax support (i.e., a course that does not depend solely on student tuition and fees to cover its cost), unless the college’s governing board has ruled to let veterans receive the benefit while taking non-funded courses; and
  • Meet the GPA requirement of the institution’s satisfactory academic progress policy in a degree or certificate program as determined by the institution’s financial aid policy and, as an undergraduate student, not be considered to have attempted an excessive amount of credit hours.
  • For additional eligibility information, visit theTexas Veterans Commission website: tvc.texas.gov/education/hazlewood-act/
Spouse/Dependent Category

A Spouse must:

  • Be a spouse of a veteran who, at the time of entry into the U.S. Armed Forces,
    • be classified by the institution as a Texas resident,
    • designated Texas as Home of Record,
    • or entered the service in Texas;
  • Be a spouse of a veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces or the Texas National Guard who died as a result of service-related injuries or illness, is missing in action, or became totally disabled (100%) as a result of service-related injury or illness or is entitled to receive compensation at the 100% rate due to individual unemployability (IU) due to a service-connected injury or illness;
  • Have no federal Veterans education benefits, or have no federal veterans education benefits dedicated to the payment of tuition and fees only (such as Chapter 33 or 31) for term or semester enrolled that do not exceed the value of Hazlewood benefits;
  • Be classified by the institution as a Texas resident; and
  • Meet the GPA requirement of the institution’s satisfactory academic progress policy in a degree or certificate program as determined by the institution’s financial aid policy and, as an undergraduate student, not be considered to have attempted an excessive amount of credit hours. This requirement does not apply to the spouse of an MIA, KIA, or service-connected deceased veteran.

A Child must:

  • Be a child of a Veteran who, at the time of entry into the U.S. Armed Forces,
    • was classified by the institution as a Texas resident,
    • designated Texas as Home of Record,
    • or entered the service in Texas;
  • Be a child of a veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces, Texas National Guard, or Texas Air National Guard who died as a result of service-related injuries or illness, is missing in action, or became totally disabled (100%) as a result of a service-related injury or illness or is entitled to receive compensation at the 100% rate due to individual unemployability (IU) due to a service-connected injury or illness;
  • Have no federal veterans education benefits, or have no federal veterans education benefits dedicated to the payment of tuition and fees only (such as Chapter 33 or 31) for term or semester enrolled that do not exceed the value of Hazlewood benefits;
  • Be classified by the institution as a Texas resident; and
  • Meet the GPA requirement of the institution’s satisfactory academic progress policy in a degree or certificate program as determined by the institution’s financial aid policy and, as an undergraduate student, not be considered to have attempted an excessive amount of credit hours. This requirement does not apply to the child of aa MIA, KIA, or service-connected deceased veteran.
  • For additional eligibility information, visit theTexas Veterans Commission website: www.tvc.texas.gov/
Child (Legacy Act) Category

A Child (Legacy Act Recipient) must:

  • Be classified by the institution as a Texas resident;
  • Be the biological child, stepchild, adopted child, or claimed as a dependent in the current or previous tax year;
  • Be 25 years old or younger on the first day of the semester or term for which the exemption is claimed (unless granted an extension due to a qualifying illness or debilitating condition); and
  • Meet the GPA requirement of the institution’s satisfactory academic progress policy in a degree or certificate program as determined by the institution’s financial aid policy and, as an undergraduate student, not be considered to have attempted an excessive amount of credit hours.
  • For additional eligibility information, visit theTexas Veterans Commission website: tvc.texas.gov/education/hazlewood-act/

Legacy recipients will receive an exemption for the number of degree certified hours reported by the institution for that term or semester. Maximum degree certified hours awarded to the Legacy recipient will be dependent upon the degree or certificate program in which the student is enrolled for that term or semester and shall be consistent with the program length as defined within the school catalog as approved by the regional accreditation commission.

*If a child to whom hours have been delegated fails to use all of the assigned hours, a Veteran may re-assign the unused hours that are available to another child. Only one child will use Hazlewood Legacy benefits at a time.