2017-2018 Spring Publication 
    May 18, 2024  
2017-2018 Spring Publication [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Financial Information

Spring 2018 Tuition & Fee Schedule

Tuition and Fees are Subject to Change

Visit LoneStar.edu/tuition

Students are responsible for paying all tuition and fee charges in full by the payment due date. Students not paying by the due date may be dropped from their classes. Refer to LoneStar.edu/payment for payment due dates.

Tuition & Fees per Credit Hour

Credit Hours

Resident of District 1

Out-of-District Texas Resident 2

International/Out-of-State 3

















































































Note: Minimum tuition rates are set by the state legislature and are subject to change by legislative action. Student tuition and fees are subject to change by the Lone Star College Board of Trustees. Dual credit courses taught off-site will not be assessed a lab fee. Textbooks and lab fees vary by program.

  1. Notes: Applies to all students enrolled in credit classes: Includes tuition at the rate of $44 per credit hour, a $11 per credit hour technology fee, a $2 per credit hour student activity fee, a $7 per credit hour general use fee, a non-refundable registration fee of $12, and an infrastructure fee of $20.
  2. 1 Applies to U.S. citizens and permanent residents who are residents of Aldine, Conroe, Cypress-Fairbanks, Humble, Klein, Magnolia, New Caney, Splendora, Spring, Tomball and Willis Independent School Districts.
  3. 2 Applies to U.S. citizens and permanent residents who are residents of Texas but do not reside in the college district. Includes an additional out-of-district tuition fee of $85 per credit hour.
  4. 3 Applies to all other students. By legislative action, the tuition may not be less than $200 (minimum tuition). Includes an additional out-of-state tuition fee of $100 per credit hour.

Students who enroll in the same course for the third or more time will be assessed an additional $60 per credit hour. Certain courses are excluded. See LoneStar.edu/repeatcourse for details.

Fee Schedule*

Mandatory fees per credit hour:

Differential tuition fee

Varies by program

General use fee


Infrastructure fees (per semester)


Fully online course loads do not require an infrastructure fee


Student activity fee


Technology fee


Other fees:



AVANT placement exam


Auditing a course

Charges equal to

credit enrollment

Course/competency challenge exam


ESOL Assessment Test


Exam proctoring fee

Varies by exam and location

F-1 Student Health Insurance Plan
(purchase through Academic Health Plans (AHP))

See advisor

Lab fees

Varies by course

Liability insurance

Varies by program

Online fee (per credit hour)


Payment plan administration fee (non-refundable)


Payment plan late fee (per past due payment occurrence)


Portfolio evaluations


Registration fee (per semester, non-refundable)


Repeated course** (per credit hour)


Returned check (per check or electronic)


Texas Success Initiative Assessment fee ($10 per section)


Textbooks (new, used or rental)

Varies by course



Specialty fees: liability insurance, uniforms, supplies, etc.

Varies by program

* These fees are subject to change by the Board of Trustees or legislative action.
** Most courses that are repeated 3 or more times.

Differential Tuition Fee by Program

Most programs of study have discipline-based differential fees charged per credit hour in addition to the base credit hour tuition charge. The differential fee offsets the costs incurred for each discipline that are above the base credit hour tuition rate. 

2017-2018 Differential Tuition Fee Schedule (Amounts per Credit Hour)


2017-2018 Fee



Architecture and Precision Production Trades


Biology, Physical Sciences, and Science Technology


Business Management, Marketing, and Administrative Services




Computer and Information Sciences


Construction Trades


Consumer and Homemaking Education




Engineering Related


Eng Language, Literature, Philosophy, Humanities, and Interdisciplinary


Foreign Languages


Health Occupations - Dental Assistant, Medical Lab, and Associate Degree Nursing


Health Occupations - Dental Hygiene


Health Occupations - Other


Health Occupations - Respiratory Therapy


Health Occupations - Vocational Nursing




Mechanics and Repairers - Automotive


Mechanics and Repairers - Diesel, Aviation Mech., and Transport Workers


Mechanics and Repairers - Electronics


Physical Education and Fitness


Protective Services and Public Administration


Psychology, Social Services, and History


Visual and Performing Arts


Senior Citizens, 65 or Older

Senior Citizens, 65 or Older, Free Tuition for 6 Credit Hours - Effective, spring, 2017, students who are 65 years or older by the first day of class can have up to 6 credit hours of tuition waived for formula funded courses per semester. The award does not cover any fees charged for classes. Students must meet LSC’s Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) minimum grade point average and max time frame requirements as set forth in Senate Bill 1210 for continued eligibility.

All students interested in receiving the Senior Citizen, 65 or Older, State Exemption should complete Lone Star’s State Exemption and Waiver Acknowledgement Agreement form. The form can be obtained under the Student Help Center in the Student Forms section in myLoneStar. (For more information regarding exemption eligibility requirements, please contact your campus business office.) http://www.lonestar.edu/lsc-business-offices.htm

Payment Policy

Please go to LoneStar.edu/payment

Credit Refund Policy

For more details, please go to LoneStar.edu/refunds

The refund policy for Lone Star College is based upon the assumption that student tuition and fees provide only a portion of the actual incurred costs to provide educational opportunities. When a student enrolls in a class, a place is reserved which cannot be given to another student. This represents a significant cost to LSC whether or not class enrollment is continued.

Refunds will be made under the following conditions, in compliance with the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board Policy:

  1. If the college cancels or discontinues a scheduled course, a 100 percent refund is granted.
  2. Students who drop a course or who totally withdraw before the first class day will have their tuition and fees refunded (EXCEPT for the registration fee, the payment plan service fee, or the late fee - if any are applicable). These refunds are in accordance with the following drops and withdrawals schedule.
  3. Students who drop a course or withdraw after the first calendar day of the semester will receive a partial tuition and fees refund (EXCEPT for the registration fee, the payment plan service fee, or the late fee - if any are applicable) in accordance with the following drop and withdrawal schedule.

Note: Title IV (Federal Pell Grant, FSEOG, Direct Loans) aid recipients are subject to a different policy upon complete withdrawal of classes (refer to LoneStar.edu/refunds).

Tuition and financial aid refunds are processed from Lone Star College beginning one week after the official day of record. Refunds for courses scheduled outside the sessions listed in this section will be made on a prorated basis in accordance with the refund policy.

Semester Length Courses

Fall and Spring Semesters
Prior to the first calendar day of the semester 100%
During the first 15 calendar days of the semester 70%
During the 16th through 20th calendar days of the semester 25%
After the 20th calendar day of the semester None
Six-Week Summer Semester
Prior to the first calendar day of the semester 100%
During the first five calendar days of the semester 70%
During the sixth and seventh calendar days of the semester 25%
After the seventh calendar day of the semester None

Flex Entry and Non-Semester Length Courses

Prior to the first scheduled calendar session 100%

After classes begin, see drops and withdrawals chart.

Drops and Withdrawals
Length of Class Session in Weeks Last Day for 70 percent Refund Last Day for 25 percent Refund
2 weeks or less 2nd day of session N/A
3 weeks 3rd day of session 4th day of session
4 weeks 4th day of session 5th day of session
5 weeks 5th day of session 6th day of session
6 weeks 5th day of session 7th day of session
7 weeks 7th day of session 9th day of session
8 weeks 8th day of session 10th day of session
9 weeks 9th day of session 11th day of session
10 weeks 9th day of session 12th day of session
11 weeks 10th day of session 14th day of session
12 weeks 12th day of session 15th day of session
13 weeks 13th day of session 16th day of session
14 weeks 13th day of session 17th day of session
15 weeks 14th day of session 19th day of session
16 weeks or longer 15th day of session 20th day of session
Regulations Concerning Checks
  1. A returned check fee of $30 will be assessed if a check presented for payment of a student’s obligation to the college is returned for any reason or is not honored by your financial institution.
  2. If your check is returned unpaid for any reason you must make other payment arrangements promptly, or your classes may be dropped, future registration may be prevented and all records may be withheld.
  3. Checks presented for payment of tuition and fees, for deposits, or for the purchase of books or equipment, will not be accepted in an amount greater than the total amount due for the transaction.
  4. No temporary or postdated checks will be accepted by the college.
  5. Students who present three or more checks with insufficient funds, may be prohibited from making future payments by check.
Charge Cards Accepted

VISA, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover will be accepted for payment of tuition and fees. Payments can be made using debit/credit cards, pre-paid cards or gift cards. Students should retain the pre-paid cards and gift cards used for payment, even if the balance is depleted. Refunds will be applied to the original card used during payment.

Installment Payment Plan

Students may defer full payment of tuition and fee charges by enrolling in an installment payment plan through myLoneStar - Financial Information. Students must be enrolled in a payment plan before classes begin. One half of eligible tuition and fees is due up front, and the remainder is deferred in a minimum of two equal installments which require payment by the last week of class. Please note that payment plans for flat fee programs, such as the CHI program, may have different down payment requirements. The number of installments may also vary depending on the length of the course. A $20 payment plan fee is assessed and due upon enrollment in the plan. A $25 late fee will be assessed on each delinquent installment. For more information, visit: LoneStar.edu/payment-plan.

Collection Costs

If financial obligations are not paid in full by their due dates, these debts may be referred to an outside collection agency and to the appropriate credit bureaus. The amount referred to the collection agency will be subject to collection costs. Collection fees up to 30 percent may be assessed and added to the original debt including any litigation costs and/or attorney fees. The student must pay these costs, as well as applicable interest and fees. Once debts have been turned over to an outside collection agency, Lone Star College will no longer accept payment for this debt. Payment must be made with the respective collection agency. Furthermore, all unpaid obligations will result in holds placed on student records affecting the issuance of diplomas and transcripts, and will prevent future registration activity.

Resident Status

Establishing residency - LSC must determine the residency status of all students for tuition purposes.  All new students will be required to sign an oath of residency and may be required to provide substantiating documentation. Current and returning students may be required to reaffirm their residency status and will be required to provide substantiating documentation upon any residency status change.

It is the responsibility of the student to register under the correct residency classification. If there is a question about classification, it is the student’s responsibility, prior to the time of registration, to discuss this with the admissions office and have an official determination made. Additional information regarding residency requirements may be found in the college admissions office. The chief student services officer is the final authority on all questions on residency. Deliberate falsification of resident status or documentation will result in the student having to pay the difference in the charges and may subject a student to immediate dismissal.

For tuition purposes, students will be classified according to the following guidelines:

  1. In-District Texas Resident means an adult Texas resident living in the Colleges taxing district boundaries on the census date in the semester in which the student enrolls. It can also mean a non-adult Texas resident whose parents or guardians live within those boundaries on the census date in the semester in which the student enrolls. It can also mean property owners, and their dependents, who pay the College’s property taxes and are Texas residents. It can also mean the College’s full-time employee’s immediate family members. Finally, it can also mean a Texas resident of the Acres Home Super Neighborhood attending the Colleges Victory Center.
  1. Out-of-District Texas Resident means an adult Texas resident living outside the Colleges taxing district boundaries on the official enrollment reporting date. It can also mean a non-adult Texas resident whose parents or guardians live outside those boundaries on the official enrollment reporting date.
  1. Out-of-State Residents means a person aged over 18 years who does not meet the Texas Resident definition under this section. This definition also includes persons aged less than 18 years whose parents or legal guardians resided outside of Texas for the 12 months before the applicable semester.
  1. A person is a Texas Resident if that person satisfies one of several circumstances.
  • A person who established a domicile in Texas no less than one year before the semester’s census date in which the person enrolls and maintained that domicile continuously for the year preceding that census date.
  • A dependent whose parent or guardian established a domicile in Texas no less than one year before the semester’s census date in which the person enrolls and maintained that domicile continuously for the year preceding that census date.
  • A non-citizen person who first graduated from a Texas public or accredited private high school, home school program, or a Texas high school diploma-equivalent program. And second, established a domicile in Texas for at least 36 months prior to graduating or receiving a diploma-equivalent. And third, established a domicile in Texas for one year before the student’s first academic semester’s census date.
  • A nonresident of Texas employed by a business or organization established in Texas under a Texas Economic Development and Diversification In-State Tuition Incentive along with their spouse and children are eligible to pay resident tuition. It is irrelevant how long the person has been domiciled in Texas. The enrolling student must provide a letter of intent to establish Texas residency with the College.
  • A person who established a domicile in Texas no less than 12 consecutive months before the semester’s 12th day in which the person enrolls. And who holds an immigration visa allowing him or her to live in the United States.
  • A person who has filed a Petition for Permanent Resident Status (I-130 or I-140). And who has established a domicile in Texas no less than 12 consecutive months before the applicable semester’s 12th day.
  • A person, ignoring immigration status, who satisfies (c)(3) above and provides the College an affidavit. The affidavit must promise that the person will apply for legal permanent residency as soon as eligible.
  • A person stationed in Texas who is an officer, enlisted, selectee, or draftee of the United States Army, Army National Guard, Air Force, Air National Guard, Navy, Marine Corps, Coast Guard, or a commissioned officer in the Public Health Service. This also applies to the person’s spouse and dependent children. This definition does not apply to service members training in Texas in an isolated or routine manner.
  • A member of the United States Armed Services whose Home of Record with the military is Texas is presumed to be a Texas resident, as are his or her spouse and dependent children. A member whose Home of Record is not Texas but who provides the institution Leave and Earnings Statements that show the member has claimed Texas as his or her place of residence for the 12 straight months prior to enrollment is presumed to be a Texas resident, as are his or her spouse and dependent children.
  • A Texas resident means a service members spouse or child under certain circumstances. First, the service member is stationed outside Texas. Second, the member’s spouse or child resides in Texas. Third, the spouse or child gives the College a letter of intent to establish Texas residency. It is irrelevant how long the spouse or child has lived in Texas if the letter of intent is filed.
Changes in Residency Status

If a student continues to enroll in at least one fall or spring semester each year, the student’s residency status will remain the same unless the student files to change the residency status. It is the students responsibility to change the residency status if their residency changes. All changes are made by the student through their myLoneStar Student Center. Any change resulting in a residency status different from their initial admission to LSC will require the student to provide substantiating documentation. The student must file the request to change residency status prior to the Official Day for the semester. Changes made after this date will be effective for the following semester.

Documentation to Support Establishing and Maintaining Domicile in Texas

The following documentation may be requested by the institution regarding a person’s responses to the Core Residency Questions. Documents that may be used as proof that:

  • The person or the dependents parent established domicile in Texas, and
  • The person or the dependents parent has maintained domicile in Texas continuously for at least 12 consecutive months immediately preceding the Official Day of the semester in which the person enrolls, include but are not limited to the following:
Documents that may Support the Establishment of Domicile in Texas and Maintenance of Domicile in Texas


  • An employer’s statement of dates of employment in Texas (beginning and current or ending dates) that encompass at least 12 consecutive months immediately preceding the Official Day of the semester in which the person enrolls. However, employment conditioned on student status, such as work study, the receipt of stipends, fellowships, or research or teaching assistantships does not constitute gainful employment.
  • Other documents that show the person or the dependents parent, for at least 12 consecutive months immediately preceding the Official Day of the semester in which the person enrolls
    • has been engaged in employment intended to provide an income to the person or allow the person to avoid the expense of paying another to perform tasks (as in child care) that is sufficient to provide at least one-half of the individual’s tuition and living expenses or represents an average of at least 20 hours per week; or
    • is self-employed in Texas or is living off his/her earnings; or
    • is primarily supported by public assistance in Texas.
  • For a person living on public assistance, written statements from the office of one or more social service agencies located in Texas that attest to the provision of services to the person for the 12 consecutive months immediately preceding the Official Day of the semester in which the person enrolls.


  • Title to residential real property in Texas with documentation to verify 12 consecutive months of ownership immediately preceding the Official Day of the semester in which the person enrolls, such as a Warranty Deed, with the person or the dependents parent having established and maintained domicile at that residence.


  • Marriage Certificate or Declaration of Registration of Informal Marriage with documentation.
Documents that May Provide Support to a Claim of Residence in Texas for the 12 Consecutive Months Immediately Preceding the Official Day of the Semester in which the Person Enrolls
  • Utility bills for the 12 consecutive months preceding the Official Day;
  • A Texas high school transcript for the full senior year immediately preceding the Official Day;
  • A transcript from a Texas institution showing presence in the state for the 12 consecutive months preceding the Official Day;
  • A Texas driver’s license or Texas ID card that has not expired and, if it reflects an origination date, shows an origination date at least 12 months prior to the Official Day;
  • Cancelled checks that reflect a Texas residence for the 12 consecutive months preceding the Official Day;
  • A current credit report that documents the length and place of residence of the person or the dependent’s parent to be in Texas and the length of residence to be at least 12 consecutive months preceding the Official Day.
  • Texas voter registration card that was issued at least 12 months prior to the Official Day.
  • Pay stubs for the 12 consecutive months immediately preceding the Official Day, reflecting significant gainful employment in Texas;
  • Bank statements reflecting a Texas address for the 12 consecutive months immediately preceding the Official Day.
  • Written statements from the office of one or more social service agencies, attesting to the provision of services for at least the 12 consecutive months immediately preceding the Official Day.
  • Lease or rental of residential real property in the name of the person or the dependent’s parent for the 12 consecutive months immediately preceding the Official Day.
Other Documents that may be used to Lend Support to or Clarify an Individuals Claim of Domicile or Residence, as Appropriate, in Texas
  • Tax return of the student or parent(s).
  • Visa, passport or other pertinent immigration documents.
  • Leave and Earnings Statements (LES).
  • Documents or statements to clarify answers to Core Residency Questions.
  • A Texas high school transcript to verify thirty-six months presence in the state and graduation from a Texas high school.
  • State of Texas or local (Texas) licenses to conduct a business or practice a profession in this state.
Documentation for In-District Resident Status

Documents which can be used to demonstrate residency within the boundaries of the independent school districts of Aldine, Conroe, Cypress-Fairbanks, Humble, Klein, Magnolia, New Caney, Splendora, Spring, Tomball, and Willis:

  • Driver’s license or Texas ID card showing an address within the district.
  • Rental or lease agreement showing an address within the district.
  • Deed to real property located within the district.
  • Utility bills from an address with in the district.
  • A current voter registration card.
  • A current credit report that documents the place of residence of the person or dependent student’s parents or legal guardians.

Financial Assistance

The purpose of financial aid is to remove financial barriers that prevent access to educational opportunities. Lone Star College (LSC) participates in programs that provide aid through grants, a variety of scholarships, college work-study employment and federal student loans. Students choosing to apply for these programs should complete the steps outlined in the Grants/Application Processing section. Priority is given to those students who apply and complete the process prior to April l. After the priority date, awards are made as long as funds are available. Scholarships are usually awarded for the fall and spring terms only.

Lone Star College Foundation Endowed Scholarships

Lone Star College offers a variety of need and scholarship based financial awards. Each spring, the Lone Star College Foundation announces available scholarships. Applications and specific details related to each scholarship are available through the financial aid offices of each college campus. A current list of Lone Star College Endowed Scholarships  may be found in the catalog. This list includes the primary criteria and requirements for each award; please see a financial aid advisor for more details. The LSC application deadline is April 1 for fall and Oct. 1 for spring.

Grants/Application Processing

Step 1: Go to www.fafsa.gov to complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). Be sure to list the Lone Star College school code, 011145. The FAFSA is available October 1 of each year for the upcoming academic year. File as early as possible because limitedly funded programs are awarded on a first-come, first-serve basis.

Step 2: After submitting your FAFSA, a copy is provided electronically to the Lone Star College Financial Aid Office (FAO). If you have been selected by the Central Processing System (CPS) for a process called verification, you will be required to submit additional documentation to the FAO. The FAO will notify you via email of the documentation you are required to provide.

Step 3: Your financial aid eligibility is determined after the FAO has received your FAFSA and all required documents, provided you are:

  • Admitted to Lone Star College;
  • Seeking a degree or certificate program at least one year in length;
  • Meeting SAP policy requirements; and
  • Meeting all other federal eligibility requirements.

Step 4: The FAO will send you an award letter detailing the awards you are eligible to receive.

Step 5: Accept or decline any financial aid offers via MyLoneStar.

Step 6: Federal Direct Loan Borrowers

  • If you are a first time Federal Direct Loan borrower, you must complete a Direct Entrance Loan Counseling session. A link to the online session is available at Student Loans.gov.
  • First time Federal Direct Loan borrowers must also complete a Master Promissory Note (MPN). You may complete a MPN by logging onto Student Loans.gov.

Parent Direct PLUS Loan Borrowers - You must complete a credit pre-approval and MPN (if you have not already completed a Direct PLUS MPN). You may access the PLUS application at Student Loans.gov.

Financial Aid Eligibility

Students must meet the following criteria in order to receive federal student aid:

  • Be admitted into a degree or certificate program;
  • Demonstrate financial need (some loans do not require an applicant to demonstrate need);
  • Have a high school diploma, GED, which are in compliance with standards approved by the U.S. Department of Education;
  • Be a U.S. citizen or eligible non-citizen;
  • Have a valid Social Security Number (SSN);
  • Meet Satisfactory Academic Progress standards (see SAP Policy below);
  • Be registered with Selective Service, if applicable;
  • Must not be in default of any federal student loans.

Note: A conviction of drug distribution or possession may affect a student’s eligibility for federal student aid. All federal student aid programs have specific eligibility requirements that a student must meet in addition to those stated above. More information detailing specific criteria may be found in the Need-Based Programs section of this catalog.

Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP)

All LSC aid applicants must meet three Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) requirements, prescribed by federal regulation, to receive financial aid. Those SAP requirements include maintaining at least a:

  • 2.0 cumulative grade point average,
  • successfully completing 67% of cumulative credits attempted, and
  • earning a degree or certificate within 150% of the published length in credit hours of the declared program of study.

To qualify for aid a financial aid recipient must maintain satisfactory academic progress. For more information, go to Lonestar.edu/satisfactory-academic-progress

Federal and State Need-Based Programs

NOTE: Most need-based grants (with the exception of a Federal Pell Grant) are awarded on a first-come, first-served basis.  Students who wish to be considered for these awards should have their file completed PRIOR to April 1.

Federal Pell Grant (PELL) - A federal grant designed to help students with financial need obtain their first undergraduate degree. The maximum annual grant for the 2016-17 year is $5,815. 

Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG) - A federal and institution-matched need-based grant. Priority is given to those students who demonstrate an exceptional need and qualify for a Federal Pell Grant.  Limited funds are available.

Federal Work Study Program (FWS) - A federal and college-matched work program which provides jobs for students who have a financial need. Students apply for these jobs online. Visit LoneStar.edu/work-study to view available jobs.  Students normally work 15 to 19 hours per week and begin above minimum wage. Diverse positions are available at the campuses.  Limited funds are available.

Texas College Work Study Program (TCWS) - A state and institutionally-matched work study program similar to the federal work study program. Program participation is limited to fall and spring terms. Limited funds are available.

Texas Educational Opportunity Grant (TEOG) - A state grant made available to students who demonstrate high financial need and who are enrolled in at least six hours. The student may not qualify for TEXAS Grant in order to qualify for TEOG. The maximum award is $2,832 per year for fall and spring only.

Texas Public Education Grant (TPEG) - A grant fund made available from tuition revenues to assist LSC students in financial need. Awards generally range from $100 to $1,000 per year.

Towards Excellence and Success Grant (TEXAS) Renewal - A state grant made available to students who graduate from high school with a “Recommended Advanced High School, Advanced High School Honor, or Distinguished High School” seal on their high school transcript. A high school transcript with this seal must be on file at the college the student will be attending. Students must enroll in at least nine hours. Enrollment has to be within 16 months after the month of high school graduation. The maximum award is $2,832 per year for fall and spring only.

Students may contact the financial aid office at the college they plan to attend or may visit our website at LoneStar.edu/financial-aid for a copy of the LSC award guidelines.

Return of Title IV Aid

Under the Higher Education Amendment regulation called Return of Title IV Funds, all students receiving Title IV federal grant or loan assistance who withdraw from the institution in the first 60% of the term are subject to the Return of Title IV Fund policy. This regulation affects the calculation of aid to be returned as well as repayment procedures. The percentage of aid earned by a Title IV student is determined by calculating the percentage of the period that the student completed. If the student completes up to 60% of the term, the percentage of aid earned equals the percentage of the completed period. A portion of the Title IV funds (Pell Grant, SEOG, and Direct Loans) awarded to the student must be returned. The calculation of the return of these funds may result in the student owing a balance to Lone Star College and/or the Department of Education. It is the student’s responsibility to officially withdraw from all classes. If the student completes 60.01% or more, the student earns 100% of aid.

Students who are no longer attending at least six credit hours at the time loan funds are scheduled to be disbursed are not eligible to receive those funds. The loan will be cancelled and all loan funds returned to the Department of Education.

The Financial Aid Office is required by federal statute to recalculate federal financial aid eligibility for students who withdraw, drop out, are dismissed, or take a leave of absence prior to completing 60% of a payment period or term. ALL Title IV financial aid programs must be recalculated in these situations.

If a student leaves LSC prior to completing 60% of a payment period or term, the financial aid office recalculates eligibility for Title IV funds. Recalculation is based on the percentage of aid earned must recalculate their aid using the following Federal Return of Title IV funds formula: Percentage of payment period or term completed = the number of days completed up to the withdrawal date divided by the total days in the payment period or term. (Any break of five days or more is not counted as part of the days in the term). This percentage is also the percentage of aid earned. Funds are returned to the appropriate federal programs based on the percentage of unearned aid using the following formula: Aid to be returned = (100% of the aid that could be disbursed minus the percentage of earned aid) multiplied by the total amount of aid that could have been disbursed during the payment period or term.

If a student earned less aid than was disbursed, the institution and/or the student may be required to return a portion of the funds. Keep in mind that when Title IV funds are returned, the student borrower may owe a debit balance to the institution.

If a student earned more aid than was disbursed to him/her, the institution would owe the student a post-withdrawal disbursement which must be paid within 120 days of the student’s withdrawal. The institution must return the amount of Title IV funds for which it is responsible no later than 45 days after the date of the determination of the date of the student’s withdrawal.

Refunds are allocated in the following order:

  • Unsubsidized Federal Direct Loan
  • Subsidized Federal Direct Loan
  • Federal Parent PLUS Loan
  • Federal Pell Grant
  • Federal Supplemental Opportunity Grant (FSEOG)
  • Federal Iraq Afghanistan Grant
Unofficial Withdrawal Policy for Federal Student Aid Purposes Only

A student who stops attending class or leaves the College without following the official procedures for withdrawal from a course or resignation from the College is subject to receiving a grade of “F” posted on his/her academic record for each course in question and/or denial of permission to reenter the College.

When a student receives all Fs, Us, Ws, or a combination of these grades for a semester, he or she may be defined as “unofficially withdrawn” for Title IV purposes.

  • At the end of each term, students who have been identified as unofficially withdrawn will be notified in writing. The student will have 10 business days to document the last date of attendance, if applicable.
  • If the last date of attendance cannot be determined, the student is assumed to have attended 50% of the enrollment period and the Return of Title IV calculation will be based on this length of attendance. Unofficially withdrawn students will be billed for resulting institutional charges and repayments of Federal Student Aid (FSA).
Other Financial Aid Information

On-Campus Employment - A limited number of jobs are available at each college to employ students part time above minimum wage. These jobs are primarily clerical and aim to assist the student with the cost of education. Students interested in applying for these positions should visit LoneStar.edu/work-study.

Federal Direct Loan - Under the Federal Direct Loan Program, students enrolled at least half-time may borrow funds from the U.S. Department of Education. Although the FAFSA must be completed, students who do not qualify for a subsidized loan on the basis of need may receive an unsubsidized loan. The amount a student is eligible to receive depends upon the student’s classification and dependency status. The subsidized loan is awarded on the basis of financial need and the student will not be charged interest before beginning repayment or during authorized periods of deferment. The federal government “subsidizes” the interest during these periods. An unsubsidized loan does not require a student to demonstrate financial need. Unsubsidized loans accrue interest from the time the loan is disbursed until they are paid in full. Students are required to begin repayment of principal and interest on loans six months after they graduate, resign, or cease to be enrolled at least half-time. All students are required to complete an entrance and exit loan interview relative to their repayment obligations. Additional loan information may be secured from the financial aid office at the college you are planning to attend.

Dependent Undergraduate Students Subsidized Additional Unsubsidized
First Year (29 or fewer earned credit hours) $ 3,500 $ 2,000
Second Year (30 - 59 earned credit hours) $ 4,500 $ 2,000


Independent Undergraduate Students or
Dependent Undergraduate Students Whose
Parents Cannot Borrow a Plus Loan


Additional Unsubsidized
First Year (29 or fewer earned credit hours) $ 3,500 $ 6,000
Second Year (30 - 59 earned credit hours) $ 4,500 $ 6,000


Aggregate Limits for Federal Direct Subsidized and Unsubsidized Stafford Loans:
Undergraduate Dependent Students:   $ 31,000 (no more than $ 23,000 of which can be subsidized)
Undergraduate Independent Students:   $ 57,500 (no more than $ 23,000 of which can be subsidized)


Federal Parent Loan for the Undergraduate Student (PLUS) - A dependent student whose parent’s request a PLUS loan is eligible to borrow up to the cost of attendance minus any other financial aid received. This loan is a credit-based loan. Parents begin the application process by accessing the PLUS Loan application at www.studentloans.gov.  Students who are not making satisfactory academic progress as defined by the college may have a restriction imposed on their application for these loans. Additional information and applications are available in the financial aid offices.

Tuition Exemptions for Fire Science

Eligibility for tuition exemptions under Texas Education Code 54.353:

  • A student must be employed as a fire­fighter in Texas and have documentation from the Fire Chief of their paid status, or is currently, and has been an active member of a volunteer fire department for one year and holds an accredited advance certificate (or equivalent).
  • Tuition exemptions will be granted for all FIRS, FIRT and EMSP courses and will be granted for both credit and non-credit courses.
  • Only tuition and lab fees are exempted. Equipment rental and other fees will not be exempted.
  • Students enrolled in an Associate Degree or Certificate Program in Fire Science may request an exemption for all courses including general education courses required for the degree program. General education courses not required for degree/certificate completion or ap­plied toward that degree or certificate completion will not be exempted.
  • Students receiving the Fire Science Ex­emption as a continuation award must meet Lone Star College’s Financial Aid GPA (Grade Point Average) and SAP (Satisfactory Academic Prog­ress) and maximum time frame policy requirement. Students will be required to maintain a 2.0 GPA or higher and complete their declared academic program within 150% of the published length of the program in credit hours. The 2.0 GPA SAP and maximum time frame requirements do not pertain to students receiving this award for the first time.

The Hazlewood Act for Texas Veterans

The Hazlewood Act for Texas Veterans is a State of Texas benefit that provides qualified Veterans, spouses, and dependent children with an education benefit of up to 150 hours of tuition exemption, including most fee charges, at public institutions of higher education in Texas. This does NOT include living expenses, books, or supply fees.

Veteran Qualifications

A Veteran must:

  • At the time of entry into active duty the U.S. Armed Forces, designated Texas as Home of Record; or entered the service in Texas; or was a Texas resident;
  • Have received an honorable discharge or separation or a general discharge under honorable conditions as indicated on the Veterans Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty (DD Form 214);
  • Served at least 181 days of active duty service (excluding training);
  • Have no federal Veterans education benefits, or have no federal Veterans education benefits dedicated to the payment of tuition and fees only (such as Chapter 33 or 31); for term or semester enrolled that do not exceed the value of Hazlewood benefits;
  • Not be in default on a student loan made or guaranteed by the State of Texas;
  • Enroll in classes for which the college receives tax support (i.e., a course that does not depend solely on student tuition and fees to cover its cost), unless the college’s governing board has ruled to let Veterans receive the benefit while taking non-funded courses; and
  • Meet the GPA requirement of the institution’s satisfactory academic progress policy in a degree or certificate program as determined by the institution’s financial aid policy and, as an undergraduate student, not be considered to have attempted an excessive amount of credit hours.
Hazlewood Act Application Process

A Veteran must:

  • Apply and be accepted to a Texas public college or university of his/her choice. Go to ApplyTexas.org to apply or use your institutions application for admission;
  • Provide proof (DD214) from the Department of Defense regarding military service and the nature of discharge;
  • Provide proof of eligibility or ineligibility for GI Bill benefits (Chapter 31, 33/Post-9/11) by requesting a certificate of eligibility for federal education benefits from ebenefits.va.gov
  • Fill out the Hazlewood Exemption application form at Texas_Hazlewood_Act_Exemption_Application_with_Supporting_Documents_Instructions and
  • Submit the documents through the Lone Star College Request for Certification at  Lonestar.edu/VA-RequestForCert.htm

Applications and all supporting documentation must be received by the institution no later than the last day of class in order to be evaluated for the semester or term.

All applicants must register online at Hazlewood.tvc.Texas.gov/students/Account/Register in the Hazlewood Database Registration website.

Veteran and Military-Affiliated Educational Benefits

LSC is approved by the Texas Veterans Commission under the provisions of Title 38, U.S. Code for VA educational benefits to train veterans and other eligible persons for approved programs and courses required for those programs.

Veterans and Military affiliated eligible persons using GI Bill education benefits should visit the LSC Veterans Affairs Center webpage at LoneStar.edu/Veterans-Affairs to receive detailed instructions for the processing and procedures of GI Bill benefits.

Students wanting to use GI Bill benefits should review the Department of Veterans Affairs benefit eligibility requirements by visiting GIBill.VA.Gov.

Each LSC campus has a Veterans Affairs Advisor available to guide the active duty or guard/reservist member through the GI Bill and/or Tuition Assistance application process. The Campus VA Advisor can assist the veteran/dependent student through the Hazelwood Exemption application process as well. Students can find out more about the Hazelwood Exemption by visiting: http://www.tvc.texas.gov/

Any questions regarding access to resources and associated educational benefits can be directed to the Veterans Affairs Center at GIBill@LoneStar.edu or call 281.290.2922 for assistance.

VA Requirements
  • Students must provide official transcripts from all previously attended institutions, including military transcripts, accredited and non-accredited institutions prior to receiving GI Bill and Tuition Assistance certification. All requested documents must be submitted prior to certification. Please note we do not accept transcript waivers.  Transcript waivers are not applicable for VA certification requests.
  • Students must visit their respective Campus VA Advisor each term to ensure their classes qualify for such benefits.
  • Students must follow their approved LSC degree plan. Only courses that apply to the specific degree plan will be approved for such benefits.
  • Regardless of any LSC student’s intention to transfer to a four-year college, all LSC classes must apply to their designated LSC degree plan to receive such benefits.

Students who receive VA benefits are responsible for reading and following the guidelines set forth in the GI Bill Handbook at LoneStar.edu/Veterans-Affairs.

Standard of Progress

VA regulations require that a student receiving VA educational benefits make satisfactory progress according to the Academic Policies  section in the LSC catalog. If a student is placed on suspension, the VA will suspend the students VA benefits for the following fall or spring semester.

Tutorial Assistance

The VA provides additional financial assistance for students who need tutorial help.  Certain restrictions and requirements apply in order to obtain this assistance.  Information regarding the benefit can be obtained at http://www.benefits.va.gov/gibill/tutorial_assistance.asp

Statement of Rights

Students may review their financial aid and veteran benefit records at any time. Financial aid and veteran benefit records are protected in accordance with the Family Education Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) of 1974, as amended.

Students also have the following rights:

  • Request the amendment of your records to ensure they are not inaccurate, misleading or otherwise in violation of your privacy or other rights.
  • Consent to disclose personally identifiable information contained in your records, except to the extent that FERPA authorizes disclosure without consent.
  • File with the U.S. Department of Education a complaint alleging failure by the College to comply with requirements of FERPA.
  • Obtain a copy of the FERPA form and policy from LoneStar.edu/consumer-safety
  • Appeal any financial aid award, if special circumstances warrant review.
  • You may contact the Financial Aid Contact Center at 281-290-2700 with any questions.

Note: The information contained in this section is subject to change, without notice, in order to comply with federal, state, or institutional requirements.